REVIEW: Wet n Wild Iconolast Coloricon Eyeliner Collection

IMG_2553

While I enjoyed a fair bit of window shopping when the drugstore holiday displays went up, I actually managed to be very reasonable and refrain from blowing my entire paycheck at CVS.

I was considerably less reasonable when it came to Sephora’s VIB sale, but that’s a story for another day.

No, in the end I contented myself with picking up just one small holiday set: the Wet n Wild Iconolast Coloricon Eyeliner Collection, a set of 5 mini liners in a variety of colors. The set retails for just $5, and at my Walgreen’s it was actually marked down to $3.75.

Unfortunately, I don’t even think it’s worth the sale price. After trying them out, I’m wishing I had ignored the eyeliners and gone for that box of Ferrero Rocher.

Wet n Wild Coloricon Eyeliners

Wet n Wild Coloricon Eyeliners

Size comparison, L to R: Wet n Wild, Stila Smudgestick, NARS Larger than Life Eyeliner

Size comparison, L to R: Wet n Wild, Stila Smudgestick, NARS Larger than Life Eyeliner

The shades in the set aren’t named, but they include a matte black shade and 4 shimmery, vibrant colors: pink, aqua, blue, and purple.

IMG_2557

The liners actually swatched fairly well. They were certainly not the creamiest of liners, and needed a couple of swipes for full color, but ultimately gave me some true, bright pigmentation.

Unfortunately, after waiting 15 minutes for them to set, their performance left quite a bit to be desired.

IMG_2559

Basically, they don’t set. At all. They stay soft and smudgy, which means they’re apt to fade and migrate. They fared no better when actually applied to the eyes over a primer, looking messy and patchy by end-of-day.

I might be able to use these as a base for powder shadow, but if I had it to do over, I would definitely skip these. If you are interested in experimenting with bright liner, and you just want to see how it would look on you, I can see how this set might appeal to you, since you get to try on several colors for a very low price. But if you want a product that you can actually wear out of your house, there are many drugstore liners that perform MUCH better.

So mine was a dud. What about you? Have you found any holiday gems at the drugstore?

This entry was posted in Beauty, Make-up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

